The preliminary and main round qualifying draws for the 2020 FIFA Futsal World Cup

On Tuesday 11 December in Nyon, Switzerland hosted the draws ceremony for the first two rounds of 2020 FIFA Futsal World Cup which will be held in Lithuania. Qualification of the world championship will consist of four stages: the preliminary round, the main round, the elite round and the playoffs. Here are the draw results for the preliminary and the main round:

Preliminary round draw

Group A: Latvia (hosts), England, Cyprus, Gibraltar

Group B: Belarus (hosts), Norway, Kosovo, Andorra

Group C: Macedonia (hosts), Albania, Greece, San Marino

Group D: Georgia (hosts), Denmark, Germany, Israel

Group E: Belgium, Sweden (hosts), Armenia, Malta

Group F: Bosnia and Herzegovina (hosts), Turkey, Switzerland, Scotland

Group G: Netherlands, Montenegro, Bulgaria (hosts), Estonia

Group H: Finland, Moldova (hosts), Wales, Northern Ireland

The first and second teams of each group will progress to the main round. The matches of the preliminary stage will be held 29 January – 3 February 2019 at the sites Latvia, Belarus, Macedonia, Georgia, Sweden, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria and Moldova.

Main round draw

Group 1: Spain, Poland (hosts), Preliminary round Group D winners, Preliminary round Group H runners-up

Group 2: Ukraine (hosts), Slovenia, Preliminary round Group C winners, Preliminary round Group B runners-up

Group 3: Azerbaijan (hosts), Slovakia, Preliminary round Group H winners, Preliminary round Group G runners-up

Group 4: Italy (hosts), Hungary, Preliminary round Group B winners, Preliminary round Group A runners-up

Group 5: Kazakhstan, Romania (hosts), Preliminary round Group G winners, Preliminary round Group C runners-up

Group 6: Serbia, France (hosts), Preliminary round Group E winners, Preliminary round Group F runners-up

Group 7: Russia, Croatia (hosts), Preliminary round Group F winners, Preliminary round Group E runners-up

Group 8: Portugal (hosts), Czech Republic, Preliminary round Group A winners, Preliminary round Group D runners-up

The matches of the main round will take place from 22 to 27 October 2019 in Poland, Ukraine, Azerbaijan, Italy, Romania, France, Croatia and Portugal. The top two teams in each group will progress to the elite round. The draw of the elite round is scheduled for 7 November 2019.

1 reply

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *