When Futsal started back in 1930 is was actually developed for the YMCAs in Uruguay and was played on basketball courts and the first rule book was published in September 1933. The goal of Juan Carlos Ceriani, a teacher in Montevideo, was to create a team game what can be played indoors and outdoors and was similar to football which became very popular in Uruguay after they won the 10930 world cup. Cerani wrote the rules book taking as example the principals of football and combining it with rules from other sports. He took the duration from the rules of basket ball, the goal keeper rules are derived from the rules of water polo and for the field and goal size he adopted the rules of handball.

The YMCA spread the game immediately throughout South America as it was easily played by everyone, everywhere and in any weather condition. It proofed to be a game what helped players to stay in shape all year around and these reasons convinced Lotufo to bring the game to Brazil and adopt it to the needs of physical education.

Till 1956 the rules were not uniform. In 1956 Luiz de Oliveira wrote the “Book of Rules of Fuitsal” and adopted also at the international level.

Then 1965 the Confederación Sudamericana de Fútbol de Salón (South American Futsal Confederation) was formed, consisting of Uruguay, Paraguay, Peru, Argentina and Brazil.

Shortly after, a unique tournament was organized. It attracted some interest in South American media, which regularly began to follow futsal. In particular, it was the journalist José Antônio Inglêz who passionately contributed to the rapid spread of the game, as well as being credited as the man who coined the name “futsal” to define the sport.

The sport began to spread across South America, and in 1971 a governing body in São Paulo was formed under the name of Federación Internacional de Fútbol de Salón (FIFUSA) comprising Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, and Uruguay. The new institution counted 32 participating countries and its first President was João Havelange.

1975, the Federation’s chief passed to FIFA, and in 1980, Januário D’Alessio Neto was elected to work to make this sport recognized worldwide by supranational bodies.

In 1985, Joseph Blatter from Switzerland, at that time secretary of football’s governing body FIFA thought it was the right time to enlarge its influence and knowing that the Federation President João Havelange was the head of FIFUSA from 1971 to 1974, he decided to summon in Brazil the world governing body of futsal with the target to unify the game. Due to a dispute between FIFA and FIFUSA over the name of fútbol, FIFUSA has registered the word fut-sal in 1985 (Madrid, Spain) he failed.

Futsal currently has two governing bodies: Asociación Mundial de Fútbol de Salón (AMF) and Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA). AMF is the successor organization to the original governing body. FIFA later took an interest in futsal. However, talks between FIFA and AMF to reconcile governance were not successful. FIFA organizes its own separate competitions.

REGION AMF-affiliated FIFA-affiliated
World Asociación Mundial de Fútbol de Salón (AMF)

Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA)

Asia Confederation of Asian Futsal (CAFS) Asian Football Confederation (AFC)
Africa Confédération Africaine de Futsal (CAFUSA) Confederation of African Football (CAF)
North America, Central America and Carribean Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Futsal (CONCACFUTSAL) Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF)
South America Confederação Sul-Americana de Futebol de Salão (CSFS) and
Confederación Panamericana de Futsal (CPFS/PANAFUTSAL)
Confederación Sudamericana de Fútbol (CONMEBOL)
Oceania Confederation Futsal of Oceania (CFSO) Oceania Football Confederation (OFC)

European Union of Futsal (UEFS)

Union of European Football Association (UEFA)